Dharmavira das – Brief Autobiography

Hare Krishna prabhus and Vaishnavis!

I will share with you briefly about myself for those who don’t know me and many of you don’t know me which is a fact.

I am a married person, with four sons. I met my spiritual master in South Africa in 1975 and I joined his organisation at the end of 1976 in Cato Ridge, South Africa.

It is very humiliating to speak about oneself but if I don’t explain about myself then most of you would speculate about me.

Firstly I was the only male of Indian origin to personally see Srila Prabhupada in South Africa and receive direct initiation from him and also I was the first male person of Indian origin to join the movement in South Africa with a friend of mine whom I introduced and preached to at the University in South Africa.

The reason that I mention that I personally saw Srila Prabhupada is very important because it has two connotations. The first one is clearly explained in the scriptures that one eleventh of a second association with a pure devotee of the Lord can save one from the most dangerous type of fear. The second is that by personally getting darshan of the guru one receives direct initiation from him just by receiving his darshan.

I was personally sent by Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakur to spread the teachings of Sri Gauranga Mahaprabhu and to assist my spiritual master to spread the teachings.

Srila Prabhupada said that one has to corroborate the events in one’s life with the scriptures and holy men.

In the Bhagavad-gita it is mentioned that if one does not finish one’s spiritual journey in the previous birth, he gets another chance and takes his birth in a rich aristocratic family or in a family in a religious home. In my life I took birth as the first grandson in the most wealthiest family in Tongaat, South Africa. My father and mother where very religious and my mother who is 79 years old as I speak is still living and meditates for 5 hours a day regularly.

My father who passed away in 2002, left his body as a perfect yogi and he could see the guru with divine vision which he informed all of us before he left his physical body.

Another incident in my life I will share with of you. In 1973 I was practising zen buddhism with two mystic zen masters in Tongaat.

One evening at the meditation session one of the masters said that ‘some of you are ready for initiation’ and he asked us to close our eyes and the master started to get into turiya avastha which is a very deep meditation and after that he pulled three of us from the congregation and said that we were ready for initiation. The zen master then started to sing Sanskrit verses and circumambulated us, meaning the three of us. At that time I did not know the Sanskrit verses the zen master was singing but all the words were coming out mystically from my mouth as if I knew them.

Later many of the congregation members questioned the zen master why was I chosen for initiation because I was very new compared to many of them. The zen master explained that I was continuing from my previous life.

I recall a similar incident when Srila Prabhupada gave sannyasa to Gour Govinda Maharaja, Brahmananda Swami protested to Srila Prabhupada that ‘he was just a new man’. Srila Prabhupada told Brahamanada Swami “you are a new man, not him, he is Krishna conscious from birth.”

I have many kanistha and less than kanistha godbrothers who are under the same illusion because they think that they joined earlier that they are more senior that those that joined after them, not realising that someone may be continuing from his previous life. Real seniority is not when you joined the institute but by realisation.

Kanistha means one whose spiritual life has just begun and less than kanistha means their real spiritual life has not yet begun which can be easily determined by their neophyte behaviour.

I am now going to share with you some of my other personal experiences.

In 1998 on a 10 day tour to Kedarnath and Badrinath in the Himalayas I was daily chanting minimum of 300,000 names of the maha-mantra and I could not stop chanting.

When I reached Rishikesh after the tour, Lord Shiva, Mahadeva, welcomed me by inquiring how I was. Then in 2011 Mahadeva came again to see me in South Africa and he said he was looking for me. I could understand from these two meetings that Mahadeva came to bless me.

In 1999 at the Sri Sri Radhanath temple of understanding in Chatsworth, Durban Srimati Radharani came out of Her Deity and gave me Her darshan. Also at mangal artik I was blessed to see the Lord directly being worshipped by the guru.

That is why Srila Bhaktisiddanta Sarawati Prabhupada, the guru of our spiritual master, AC Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada said ‘don’t try and see God but act in such a way that God will come to see you.’

Once at Tulasi artik at the Radhanath temple I went into turiya avastha and did a manjari dance for Tulasi devi. Giriraja Maharaja who was present at that time and one of the leading disciples of Srila Prabhupada asked me if I was realising something. I replied ‘no’ but he went on to to say that ‘I know you would not say.’

In 2002 at the Iskcon Lenasia temple Sri Gauranga Mahaprabhu spoke directly to me from His Deity form on the altar and said that I should bring the Deities of Radha and Krishna to Johannesburg. Three year later Sri Gauranga Mahaprabhu gifted me life-size Sri Sri Radha-Govinda Deities. I have attached the link of these Deities which are situated in Lenasia, South Africa.

At present I live in Radha Kunda and train aspiring devotees how to develop their love for the Divine Couple, Radha and Krishna.

Now I will share my life with you in ISKCON from the end of 1976 to early 1984. Tulsi das was the temple president at that time and when he heard that I was a very good book distributor, he asked me to enrol life members for the society. I clearly remember in my first month I made 49 members. Tulasi das was very impressed that he then deputed me to go all over South Africa to make life members. I was very successful that in one month I was mentioned in a monthly newsletter circulated by ISKCON as a leading distributor in that month. Previously Tripurari Swami was the leading book distributor most of the time.

For my achievements I was rewarded to travel all over India, with Jayatirtha das who was one of the elected 11 gurus.

Most of the funds to build the Sri Sri Radhanath Temple in Chatsworth, South Africa came from oil paintings sales. There were 19 of Srila Prabhupada’s disciples selling these paintings and a competition was held. I won the first prize in the competition.

I can go on and on but I would prefer to stop here.

HARE KRISHNA!

Thank you very much!

Brief introduction about my other qualifications, services etc. can be read here:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/EssenceteachingsofSrilaPrabhupada/permalink/969022553186014/

For any questions email me at dharmaviran@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

